ACGA welcomed 11 members to its board of directors in August, the largest and most diverse board the organization has ever had.

New members elected to the board this year include Taylor Ashlock, Valeria Campbell, Rick Gwynallen, Megan Kohtz, Nicole Rodriguez, and Mallie Steele, along with Jeff Justice, who was elected for another term. Directors who remained on the board include Liam Ó Caiside (Bill Cassidy), Seumas MacDhòmhnaill (Jamie MacDonald), Adam Dahmer, and Eileen Walker.

That makes for 11 elected members. In their first meeting last month, the board elected Liam Ó Caiside as president and Jeff Justice and Seumas MacDhòmhnaill as co-vice presidents.

The board also has three appointed (non-voting) officers: treasurer Mike MacKay, membership secretary Janice Chan, and recording secretary Joyce Campbell.

Leaving the board after two terms were Shannon Duncan, Cam MacRae, and Barbara Lynn Rice. ACGA owes them a debt of gratitude for the work they have done with us as directors and continue to do as volunteers.

“We’re delighted to have successfully expanded our board this year, and congratulate our new members,” Ó Caiside said. “We also thank Shannon and Cam on the elections committee for pulling together this group and convincing them to run for the board.”

To thrive and grow, ACGA needs more volunteers, which is why expanding the board of directors from eight to 11 members was important, he said.

“There’s a lot we want to accomplish this year, and having a larger board will make that easier.” Upcoming events include an online Oidhche Shamhna event near Halloween, the US National Mòd in November, Oidhche nam Bàrd in January, and our next Annual General Meeting.

“We also need people to help with our premiere event, the Grandfather Mountain Gaelic Song and Language Week, as well as local or regional Mòds and online events,” Ó Caiside said. “We also hope our new directors can help local Gaelic Learning Communities grow, too.”